top of page

Castle Cottage
guest book Reviews

Follow Links to our Facebook and Google Reviews 

  • Facebook

What a fabulous weekend we have had in this beautiful cottage.  The garden is a sun trap and the summerhouse is an added bonus.  The cottage has everything you need and the beds are so comfortable. Thank you, we will definitely return !

May 2024 - Bev, Helen, Carol, Lesley and Christine

 

What a wonderful and comfortable stay we have had.  We are sad to leave.  The cottage is perfectly equipped and thank you for the tasty treats !  Francesca (3) has enjoyed feeding the resident red squirrel and the beautiful birds, plus taking dog treats out to feed any passing dogs! it has been a truly enjoyable week!

May 2024 - Vicky, Stefan and Francesca

Kath and Ken, again a lovely stay at Castle Cottage.  We cannot praise enough.  Wildlife all around and that's just the garden !  Willow loved her walks and all the smells in the forest.  We will be back as we just can't keep away x

April 2024 - Liz, John and Willow the woof

Well appointed and thoughtfully presented cottage providing excellent accommodation.  We were fortunate with the weather.  Some 15 different birds recorded - many in the garden including of course, the sociable pheasant !  We also saw a Pine Marten in the garden ! How about that !  

The location provides a great opportunity for exploration but local hostelries have yet to open.  As noted by others writing in this book, we'll be back.

April 2024 - Philomena, Tony, Damian & Henry

First time at this cottage and will not be the last !  Lots to do and fantastic walks.  Amazing wildlife to spot just in the garden !  A very relaxing stay.  Would highly recommend.  Five stars !!!

April 2024 - Tom, Joe, Owen & Steve

A fantastic week in a lovely cottage.  Credit to the owners for having everything we need.  Loved watching the birds too.  Cycle storage and bike cleaning facility a big plus.  Can recommend The Pheasant Inn for food.  Thank you for a great week.

March 2024 - Mick & Alison Woodall

Comfortable cottage for short stay to attend Kielder Observatory.  Treated to views of birds, magnificent male pheasant and the red squirrel in back garden,  Clear skies and aurora !! on Sunday night.  Lovely walks along river below castle.  Shame Anglers Arms closed for (flood) refurb but went instead to Blackcock at Falstone, great Sunday lunch ! A very pleasant stay.

March 2024 - Becc, Jacq, Smudge and Beeblz

This is a vely lovely cottage, in a special part of the world.  Our regretfully short trip has been both exciting and relaxing and filled with the joys of nature.  We could find no fault with the cottage and thank the owners for thinking about everything needed to have the perfect winter get-away xxx

Oh and thanks for the treats !

February 2024 - Robin, Jane & Finbarr

How lucky we were to have booked this cottage for our trip to Kielder.  We have enjoyed our time here watching the birds and squirrels.  Lovely cottage, great location - we really hope to come back.  Thank you x

February 2024 - Jude and Trev

What an incredible place to see in our New Year and start our 2024.  Your cottage is beautifully homely and it feels like you have thought of everything.  The location is unrivalled. We have walked the forest and the water, explored the surrounding villages and had a truly magical night at the observatory. The piste de resistance was watching the birds and red squirrels in the garden.  Thank you x

New Year 2023/2024 - The Carritts and Charlie 

First time at Castle Cottage but not the first time staying at Kath and Kens accommodation.  Everything from the fabulous Christmas decorations and the wonderful welcome basket.  Everything is geared to making you feel at home.  The cottage and garden is awesome.  Indoors so comfortable, and outside like a Disney show every day.  Can't wait to come back next year. 

Kath and Ken you are truly special ! xxx

Christmas 2023 - Nikki, Sue and Kevin & Jolene the dogs - Stoke on Trent

Wow what a week.  Frost, snow and brilliant sunshine - how lucky we've been !  Came for the dark skies which we saw on 3 nights and given a recommended app for aurora alert, so on our last night were treated to that too. 

The squirrel and birds in the garden have entertained us too.  Thank you for the use of your immaculate cottage, everything perfect.  Looking forward to the next time.

November/December 2023 - Linda and Jim

Amazing !  Beautiful cottage, enjoyed watching all the birds in the garden and we were treated to a few visits from red squirrels which made our week very special  We enjoyed lovely meats from the small butcher in Newcastleton - the sausage rolls are delicious.  A mix of damp weather and cold sunny days.  Fresh air, good nights sleep, total relaxation.  Thank you for your thoughtfulness and the goody basket all really appreciated.  look forward to returning soon xxx

November 2023 - Rachel, Tony & Johnathan

We had a wonderful stay in your beautiful cosy cottage - thank you.  We loved all the thoughtful touches, such as the basket of goodies, such a treat - many thanks.  We came for the dark sky experience but the weather did not play ball so we will need to return !  Despite this we thoroughly enjoyed our stay .  Thank you.

November 2023 - Caroline, David and Cooper the dog

Our first time in Castle Cottage and it certainly won't be the last !  It really is a home from home here.  The welcome pack is a lovely touch.  Would recommend Sunday lunch at The Blackcock Inn (Falstone).  Some great walks in beautiful countryside - big treat to see the red squirrels.  Thank you Kath and Ken for your hospitality - Good times !

November 2023 - Diane, George & Bella the dog

Thank you for a lovely and cosy stay in your beautiful cottage!  Such gorgeous surrounding and a lovely decorated cottage that makes you feel relaxed.  We loved feeding and seeing the squirrels and local birds.  We would love to come back !

November 2023 - Kayleigh, Freddie & Luna

We've absolutely loved our time here and seeing a red squirrel was such a treat !  All the effort and details you've made, made us feel at home.  We can't wait to come back again.

November 2023 - Eva Hume, Shain and Kaiser

Once again a great time at Kielder.  Kath and Ken have a touch of magic with the cottages.  Both cottages are worth a stay as both offer different things.  So many birds, cheeky squirrels, owls hooting at night.  We just love it here.  Willow the Cockapoo makes herself at home as this is our fourth visit.  Booked for next year.

October 2023 - Liz, John and Willow the Woof 

Lovely week in this beautiful cottage.  Thanks for all the little extras that made it very special and for the lovely welcome pack.  We loved seeing the squirrel enjoy the nuts.  Jim went on the Astro Photography course at the Observatory which was fantastic.  Visits to Roman Army Camp Museum, National Trust, Cragside and Wallington all worthwhile too.  We hope to return !

October 2023 - Wilma, Jim and Yoshi the Samoyed

Fantastic cottage, fantastic location.  Very warm and inviting.  Great time had by all.  Enjoyed seeing the red squirrel and the different species of birds.

October 2023 - Ann, Andrew and Jessica - Blyth, Northumberland

What a retreat !  Truly far from the madding crowd.  Birds and squirrel (not forgetting the weasel!) display every day, wonderful stuff.  Don't eat at the Waterside complex, overpriced for pub grub!  Observatory is great even on starless nights!  Forest drive is also worth a venture !

October 2023 - Simon and Sarah

First visit to Kielder, beautiful place and the cottage is fantastic.  Beautifully done and couldn't want for anything more.  Enjoyed feeding the birds and lucky enough to glimpse a red squirrel.  Had some lovely walks and bike rides around the lake.  Recommend Kielder Observatory, the weather was appalling but the talks/shows they did were fascinating and well worth a visit.  Thank you Kath & Ken for a wonderful week.

October 2023 - Emma & Chris

First visit to Kielder, we had an amazing time staying here at the cottage,  Enjoyed watching the garden birds and the red squirrels.  Lots of good walks along the lake, and to and from Skyspace and the Observatory.  Excellent meals out at the Pheasant Inn and the Black Cock Inn.  Hope to return and explore the area further.

September 2023 - Elizabeth & George

A wonderful experience in a year of firsts.  Our first visit to Kielder and surrounding area.  Perfectly location for a wee trip to Scotland too.  The cottage and its location is quite stunning.  Wonderful hosts, you have certainly thought of everything.  Very welcoming,  we look forward to a return visit in the near future.  Thank you. 

p.s. We were outwitted by the squirrel, a very sneaky clever squirrel

September 2023 - Eileen and John

This is a lovely house in a lovely place and our hosts have been so kind and helpful.  We would love to come back soon.

August 2023 - Paul & Caroline

Another amazing Kielder visit.  The first one in this cottage but it won't be the last.  Perfect location, clean, spacious.  The welcome pack was a lovely touch.  Fantastic communication from Kath and Ken from the moment we booked right through to during our stay.  Thank you.

August 2023 - Kelly & Violet

Absolutely first class cottage with everything we needed.  Bird and squirrel supplies a lovely touch and plenty of wood for a lovely fire,  Great walks and scenery, our two dogs had a fab time.  Thank you Kath & Ken.

August 2023 - Trace, Shaz, Billy & Paddy

Had a fabulous few days. Weather hit and miss but it didn't matter, summerhouse is brilliant - watching the birds and red squirrels better than any TV.  Sunday lunch at The Pheasant is highly recommended.  Thank you both - these few days have been lifesaving x

August 2023 - James and Christine

We all had a great time staying in your lovely cottage and exploring Kielder and the local area.  Had some nice walks straight from the door. The cottage is really comfortable and we love the outdoor space.  Thanks.

July 2023 - Scott, Jess & Cooper the dog - London

Thank you for having us.  It was absolutely beautiful and so much around for us to do.  We can't wait to come back and visit again.

July 2023 - George, Leah, David, Claire and Misty & Bella the Border Collies - County Durham

Thank you for a great stay in your lovely cottage and for the welcome gift.  Tennis balls are Frankie's favourite thing !  We have loved feeding and watching the birds and the squirrels.  We hope to be back in the future sometime. 

June 2023 - Cheryl, Colin & Frankie the dog

Our stay was fantastic with brilliant weather - enjoyed the garden.  Went to Newcastleton to the Olive Tree, they do a great lunch.  Handy for a small shop for essentials.  Had a beautiful Sunday lunch at the Black Cock Inn in Falstone, dog friendly as well.  Tea room is nice too.  I just don't want to go home. A beautiful cottage Ken and Kath.  Looking forward to Kielder Cottage tomorrow :) xx

June 2023 - Tina, Bob and Lola the Sprocket - Cambridgeshire

We have had such an incredible stay at your stunning cottage.  We have been to Kielder twice before however we prefer this location.  Thankyou for allowing us to bring our dogs too !  We look forward to another visit again !  

June 2023 - Ian & Dan plus dogs - Middlesbrough

Simply gorgeous !  From the stunning location to the immaculate cottage, this has the lot.  Weather has been superb !  Thank you for the welcome basket - we will be back :) !  Thanks to Kath & Ken xx

June 2023 - Andy & Jackie

Again a smashing time, cottage is just perfect with a garden with so much wildlife to see.   Plenty to do - or not to do !  Lucky to see vintage car day at the Castle.  Three times at Kath and Kens cottages and just booked again for October - Perfect !   Willow is pleased to be coming back too.

May 2023 - Liz, John, Claire and Willow the Woof

Had a lovely weekend going for walks and relaxing in the cottage next to the fire.  This is a beautiful cottage with plenty of space and a big garden that we hope to come back to and enjoy in the summer!  Thank you Kath & Ken for having us !!

May 2023 - Jade and Lloyd - Newcastle

Great cottage with beautiful back garden in stunning surroundings.  Really well equipped and a lovely place to spend time and watch the world (or birds/squirrels) go by.  No mobile signal but wi-fi is rock solid and better than the service we get back home.  Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

May 2023 - Vicki

We couldn't get enough of this place !  Booked completely on a whim, it turned into one of our favourite staycations of all time.  We're already planning our trip back for the winter time when the skies are dark enough for stargazing.  Thank you Kath & Ken for all the homely touches xxx

May 2023 - Stacie & Matty

Fabulous cottage in a fabulous location. Much appreciated the delicious treats.  Thrilled to see a red squirrel in the garden.  It would be lovely to return - but it's an awfully long way !  Thank You.

April 2023 - Alan & Vivienne

Booked as a last minute Easter break with kids and struck gold !  Fantastic location for all the activities on offer around Kielder - we did it all !  The cottage is wonderful - peaceful, warm and cosy, well equipped , tastefully decorated , thoughtfully laid out and super clean.  From one holiday cottage owner to another, you've nailed it Kath & Ken :)

Thank you for the generous welcome gifts.  The kids (and us) were thrilled !

April 2023 - Butler Family

 

Fantastic weekend.  We came up to run the Kielder Dark Skies races and completed 10M - 26.2M -14M over 3 days.  Very tiring but great experience, shame the stars didn't shine due to the cloud.  Wonderful cottage to stay in and rest our tired feet.  Absolutely love it here, watching the birds very relaxing and definitely will come back.  Thank you Kath & Ken xx

March 2023 - Caroline & Sean

What a brilliant week this has been !  Splendid location and delightful cottage set in such a perfect environment !  From 7am we've been up and out, exploring and walking in every direction.  Then back home for morning coffee at the top of the garden which gets the sun all day ! And to top it off, we were snowed in for a couple of days which was perfect.  Thanks !

March 2023 - Denise, Janine & Martha the Welsh Springer

Lovely cottage in a great location with everything that you need.  Had a lovely time at the observatory and loved the fact that we could get up for a leisurely breakfast the next day.  Pheasant Inn was good - shame about The Anglers Arms being closed.  Can't go without mentioning the wonderful wildlife, especially the very tame robin that eats out of your hand - great experience.

Jan 2023 - The Hebbs

bottom of page